Parish Council profile – Brightling, East Sussex – village website
Number of Councillors7
Meetings per year6 plus Annual Parish Assembly
Average period between meetings8 weeks
Usual venue for meetingsBrightling Village Hall
ChairmanJoanna Coleman
Vice ChairmanJudy Petty
Planning Committee All Councillors
CouncillorsJoanna Coleman, Caroline Croft, Jane Oxenford, Judy Petty, Andrew Wedmore, 
Statutory Functions
ChurchyardsAnnual grant made to Brightling PCC towards maintenance of the churchyard.
Crime PreventionThe expenses of Neighbourhood Watch Chief Co-ordinator are reimbursed by Council. The council consults and reports incidents to Sussex Police and has regular contact with the local PCSO.
School GovernorsDallington School provide occasional news updates from the school.
Rights of WayIn partnership with ESCC, the council regularly checks footpaths and bridleways for clearance, surface condition, signage and bridge maintenance and reports to ESCC for work to be carried out. Limited clearance work undertaken by council.
Trees and VergesAll councillors are registered as Tree Wardens, various training courses available. Overgrown hedgerows abutting highways are observed and landowners notified when cutting back of trees or hedges required, if no action taken reported to ESCC as Highways Authority have powers to serve notices for clearance. Reports damaged or missing furniture and signs to ESCC. Taken responsibility for maintenance and decoration (biannual programme) of traditional guideposts from ESCC who remain the ‘owners’.
DrainageRoad drainage is responsibility of ESCC Highways, council regularly checks for blockages etc and informs ESCC as necessary.
Post and TelecomsConsulted by Post Office and BT regarding changes to services.
Buildings and HallsSupports the independent Village Hall Committee, appoints representative to the Committee (currently Cllr Jane Oxenford) who reports back to council. Gives financial support annually.
Planning ProposalsConsulted by Rother District Council (RDC). Reports unauthorised work to RDC. Consulted by RDC/ESCC on planning strategies.
War MemorialsPartner with PCC for maintenance/restoration as and when necessary.
Emergency PlanningResponsible for drafting and maintaining Parish Emergency Plan and issuing to RDC/ESCC.
Community BenefitThe council gives annual donations to various charities that provide a tangible benefit to the residents of Brightling. Currently they include Sussex Air Ambulance, St Michael’s Hospice, the Rural Rother Trust, Bexhill and Rother Citizens Advice Bureau, RNLI, Battle Food Bank and Sussex Victim Support.
ClerkMrs Gilly Lowe
Council OfficeOld School House, Brightling, Robertsbridge TN32 5HH
Internal AuditorMulberry & Co (appointed Dec’21)
Subscribes toSussex Association of Local Councils (NALC through ESALC)
Rother Association of Local Councils (RALC)
Action in Rural Sussex
Key RelationshipsCllr Eleanor Kirby-Green, ESCC
Cllr John Barnes, RDC
Mr D Stevens, Chief Executive, RDC
Sussex Police
High Weald AONB
Last updated13th August 2023

Parish Councillor Lead Responsibilities

BroadbandCllr Andrew Wedmore
Crime, anti-social behaviour, police relationshipsCllr Caroline Croft
DefibrillatorsCllr Caroline Croft
Hedges overhanging highwayCllr Judy Petty
Phone boxCllr Joanna Coleman
PlanningAll Councillors
Potholes and road surface problemsCllr Judy Petty
Refuse collectionCllr Caroline Croft
Road drainageCllr Judy Petty
TreesTBC plus Tree Warden
Utilities (water and electricity)TBC
Village hallCllr Jane Oxenford
WebsiteCllr Andrew Wedmore
Welcome packsAll councillors

Parish Councillor Contact Details

Chair Cllr Joanna Coleman

Caroline Croft
Vice-Chair Cllr Judy Petty
Cllr Philip Garbutt  ‬
Cllr Jane Oxenford
Cllr Andrew Wedmore

Parish Councillors’ Registers of Interest

Cllr Joanna Coleman Register of Interests

Cllr Caroline Croft  Register of Interests
Cllr Judy Petty Register of Interests
Cllr Philip Garbutt Register of Interests

Cllr Jane Oxenford Register of Interests
Cllr Andrew Wedmore Register of Interests